[nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government]
[North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends]
North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department
 

Fees

Entrance fees

All vehicles entering a state park must display a valid entrance permit year-round. If a park aide is not on duty at the entrance station, daily entrance permits and camping fees may be paid by using a self-registration system posted at the entrance. Annual permits may be purchased at the entrance station or park offices; or they can be purchased in advance by credit card(Mastercard, Visa or Discover) through our Online Reservation System or by calling the North Dakota State Parks Headquarters office in Bismarck at 701.328.5357.

Fees
 
  • Daily entrance fee (all parks): $5
  • Annual vehicle entrance permit: $25
  •  
  • Annual permit-ND residents 65 & older: $20. Note: A driver’s license or other document certifying proof of age will be required at check-in. 
  •  
  • Disabled Veterans/POWs: North Dakota veterans with a 50 percent or greater, service-related disability and former POWs are eligible for a free annual permit. All other North Dakota veterans with service related disabilities are eligible to receive an annual permit for $20. This program is available to North Dakota residents only, with Report of Benefit letter from the VA, or a North Dakota DAV/POW license plate. Note—The Golden Access Passport is issued by the federal Corps of Engineers to any individual who has been medically determined to be blind or permanently disabled for purposes of receiving benefits under Federal law.  NDPR Department will not accept the Golden Access as proof for veteran disability discounts.

Camping fees

A daily or annual entrance permit is required in addition to the camping fee.

ND Parks and Recreation offers many different camping opportunities in our parks. We offer primitive camping sites (sites with no electricity or water), modern camping sites (sites with electricity and water), cabins, yurts, tipis and overnight group facilities (at Lake Metigoshe State Park only). Please see campsite types for a listing of all types of campsites offered by ND Parks and Recreation.

Campsite prices: Prices vary based on site type and amenities and on season (Full-Service Season: Mid-May through mid September, Off-Season: Mid-September through mid-May). For current pricing please see our *Online Reservation System or call our Call Center at 800.807.4723. You may also view a fee listing at Fees and Facilities Brochure (pdf 6.3m).

*Note: To get to pricing information in the online system, click on the 'Make a Reservation' link, select the park you are interested in and select a site with the amenities you want. The cost will be listed in the site details.

Campsite Capacity: One camping unit with up to six people allowed per campsite. Exception: An additional tent may be allowed for a single-family with minor children less than 18 years of age. Permission of park management required.

To see more detailed descriptions of campsites available in each park and/or to make a reservation please visit our Online Reservation System.

Horse park fees

Horseback riding is allowed at Fort Ransom, Little Missouri, Fort Abraham Lincoln and Sully Creek state parks. In addition to the park entrance and camping fees, a horse user fee is charged to help improve horse trails. Users are responsible for the upkeep of corrals and other impact areas. An area is designated for dumping manure. Use of certified weed-free feed is required at all state parks; and certified forage is available for sale at all four parks with horseback riding facilities.

LMOSP Corrals
 
  • Daily ($6) and Annual ($30) permits are sold at the following horse parks; Fort Ransom, Fort Lincoln, Sully Creek and Little Missouri.
    • Note: Horse permits are not available at department headquarters or online.
  • This fee includes use of park corral pens, portable corrals or tying horses to trailer and trail access.
  • A permit is required for each horse rider.
  • Rider must present a permit upon park authority’s request.

Marina use fees

For information on daily or seasonal slip rentals at Lake Sakakawea State Park Marina, contact the park directly at 701.487.3315.. For information about marina services at Fort Stevenson State Park call 701.337.5576 and for Lewis and Clark State Park call 701.859.3071. Information about boat ramp access on the Missouri River system, including Lake Sakakawea, will be available on the North Dakota Game and Fish Department's web site this spring.

FSSP Marina
 

Shower fee

A $5 shower permit is required for each person entering the park whose sole purpose is to use the park’s shower facility.

  • This applies to non-coin operated shower facilities.
  • A $5 daily vehicle entrance fee will also be charged.

Coin operated shower facilities do not require a shower permit. The cost of a coin operated shower is $1/8 minutes. These shower facilities can be found at Sully Creek and Little Missouri State Parks.

Rentals

Ski equipment and snowshoes are available for rent at Lake Metigoshe State Park and Cross Ranch State Park only. Canoe and kayak rentals are available at Lake Metigoshe, Fort Ransom, Fort Stevenson, Lewis and Clark, and Cross Ranch state parks. A $50 damage deposit per canoe is required. There is an additional fee for transporting or picking up canoes. A minimum rental of 2 hours is required.

  • Canoe or kayak rental (each): $16/two hours or $50/day
  • Ski Equipment Rental (Lake Metigoshe and Cross Ranch only-cross country skis, poles & boots; or snowshoes): $15/day