nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department 50th Anniversary
 

Snowmobile safety certification

Safe riding is the key to any successful outing on a snowmobile. North Dakota law requires youth ages 10 and older, who do not have a valid driver's license or permit, to take a safety certification class. In addition those 10 and 11 also need to be directly supervised by a parent or gardian while on public lands. The certification is needed in order to legally operate a snowmobile on any public land which includes the state snowmobile trail system and ditches. In order to become certified, the following guidelines must be met:

  • Attend a scheduled classroom or hands-on class in your area, or take the online certification course from home.
  • Be at least 10 years of age.
  • Successfully complete the safety certification test.
Law Enforcement East Central Valley Trail System
 

Snowmobile safety certification classes are held throughout the winter months starting in October and are posted on the Snowmobile safety class schedule as they are scheduled. There is fee charged for those who wish to become certified. The classroom certification fee is $20. The online class fee is $30. While the classes are aimed at certifying young riders, anyone who wishes to learn more about snowmobile safety (such as parents or children under 10) is encouraged to attend; no fee is charged.

To pre-register call the registration hotline at 328.5348 or register by email at ridesafe@nd.gov.


You may obtain your certification card by completing the Snowmobile Safety Course online.

Snowmobile Safety Course Online http://www.snowmobilecourse.com/usa/northdakota/

Snowmobile Safety Practice Quiz

Test your snowmobile safety knowledge; take a free snowmobile safety practice quiz at http://www.snowmobilecourse.com.