RTP Advisory Committee Plans to Select Projects for Funding

<< All News

The Recreational Trails Program (RTP) Advisory Committee will meet on Tuesday, June 18 from 1:00pm-4:30pm to review RTP grant applications and select projects for funding. This meeting is open to the public and will be held in the WSI Boardroom at 1600 E. Century Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58503.


The RTP is a federal grant program that provides 80% in federal funds to match 20% of local funds for both motorized and non-motorized recreational trails projects throughout North Dakota. North Dakota Parks and Recreation (NDPRD) administers the RTP and has an advisory board to help with project selection.


This year, NDPRD received 17 applications totaling $1,609,553.82 in project fund requests. It is estimated that the RTP will have approximately $1 million available to award.


The RTP Advisory Committee consists of 13 members, including: Andy Banta, Dave Bietz, Dave Burns, Dave Mayer, Jeannie Schmidt, Karen Ryberg, Keri Wanner, Nick Lippert and Todd Thronson. Jolene Rieck and Genny Giese are employees of NDPRD and serve on the RTP Advisory Committee. Sandy Zimmer from Federal Highway Administration and Pamela Wenger from North Dakota Department of Transportation both serve as Ex-officio members.


The mission of the North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department is to offer a diversity of recreation opportunities and sustainably manage resources.

<< All News