North Dakota Residents
All snowmobiles operated on public land must be registered with the North Dakota Department of Transportation at any of their statewide offices.
The registration fee is $50 for a two-year period. The fee must be paid in odd-numbered years.
Dealers: Delear Report: Safety Fee Form
Owners of out-of-state registered snowmobiles must purchase a non-resident public trails and lands access permit, at a cost of $25 per year.
Collector Snowmobile Registration
A collector snowmobile is a snowmobile that is 25 years old or older, was originally produced as a separately identifiable make by a manufacturer, and is owned and operated solely as a collector's item. The title fee is $5 and motor vehicle excise tax (5%) must be remitted when applying for a title.
The following resources provide more information on the proper use of snowmobiles and laws that govern the use and ownership of snowmobiles in North Dakota.
North Dakota Century Code Chapter 39-24
North Dakota Snowmobile Laws and Safety Guidelines