North Dakota Residents
With some exceptions, OHVs operated on public land must be registered with the North Dakota Department of Transportation at any of their statewide offices. Information needed to fill out the application form includes: owner's name and address, make, year and serial number.
The registration fee is $20 and covers a two-year period (paid and expire on even number years).
Dealers: Dealer Report: Safety Fee Form
Owners of out-of-state registered OHVs must purchase a non-resident public trails and lands access permit, at the cost of $10 per year.
The following resources provide more information on the proper use of OHVs and laws that govern the use and ownership of OHVs in North Dakota.
North Dakota Century Code Chapter 39-29
2017-2019 North Dakota Off-Highway Vehicle Laws & Safety Guidelines