Youth Safety Class
North Dakota law requires youth ages 10 and older, who do not have a valid driver's license or permit, to take a safety certification class. In addition, those 10 and 11 also need to be directly supervised by a parent or guardian while on public lands. The certification is needed in order to legally operate a snowmobile on any public land which includes the state snowmobile trail system and ditches. In order to become certified, the following guidelines must be met:
- Attend a scheduled classroom or hands-on class in your area, or take the online certification course from home.
- Be at least 10 years of age.
- Successfully complete the safety certification test.
Snowmobile safety certification classes are held throughout the winter months starting in October. There is a fee charged for those who wish to become certified. The classroom certification fee is $20. While the classes are aimed at certifying young riders, anyone who wishes to learn more about snowmobile safety (such as parents or children under 10) is encouraged to attend; no fee is charged.
Test your snowmobile safety knowledge; take a free snowmobile safety practice quiz at https://www.snowmobilecourse.com/usa/northdakota/.
The North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department offers snowmobile safety classes upon request, depending on staff availability, to other government agencies, non-profit organizations, and private sector businesses.
The course is approximately 4 hours and prepares the rider with the knowledge, skill, and attitude to operate snowmobiles in a safe and efficient manner. Course outcomes and objectives are similar to the youth course but can be tailored to the specific needs of the agency/organization. Please call (701) 328-5357 for more information.
Test your snowmobile safety knowledge; take a free snowmobile safety practice quiz at http://www.atvcourse.com.
Snowmobiling is a great way to get outdoors during the winter and have fun. Accidents can happen when inexperienced riders encounter unpredictable terrain or changing weather conditions. When accidents occur, head injuries are the most common type, especially in children (source: National Institute of Health), so "Ride Safe, Ride Smart" by wearing a properly fitted helmet at all times.
Assessing Your Helmet
My helmet fits properly. It should be snug and fasten securely. Improperly fitted helmets can reduce your field of vision and may not provide adequate protection.
My helmet is not outdated. Helmets have a shelf life of approximately five to eight years. After that time the protective materials inside begin to break down and offer less protection. Also as new technology is developed, helmets become more advanced and provide greater protection. Newer snowmobile helmets will keep your face warm and your vision clear of fog. For your safety, make sure that your helmet has the latest technology. Also, check the helmet for a DOT (Department of Transportation) stamp or sticker which signals the helmet meets all current safety standards.
- My helmet is not cracked or damaged. A cracked or damaged helmet can allow almost as much damage as no helmet at all. Before using a helmet, give it a quick look over to make sure that it is not cracked or damaged. A helmet can only withstand one serious impact before losing its protective qualities.
- My helmet provides maximum protection. Many types of helmets are available, but be sure to choose the one for your protection needs. Common injuries also include dental and facial damage, so consider a full face helmet to fully protect yourself.
If you aren’t sure you can answer yes to these statements, visit one of our safety certification courses (click here for a list of scheduled courses) for a free helmet assessment or check with an expert, such as a snowmobile salesman, when choosing a helmet. They will ensure the helmet fits and protects the rider properly.
The following resources provide more information on the proper use of snowmobiles and laws that govern the use and ownership of snowmobiles in North Dakota.